Drucken/Print

 

Preimplantation genetic diagnosis - finally available in Switzerland

Nowadays, the genetic code of embryos can be examined prior to implantation. This usually happens on day 5 or 6, and the biopsied cells are sent for analysis to a highly specialised genetic laboratory. When talking about couples with a pre-existent inherited disease like e.g. cystic fibrosis, the method is called PGT-M (preimplantation genetic testing for monogenic disease); when we test all embryos for new mutations like trisomies or monosomies, it's called PGT-A (preimplantation genetic testing for aneuploidy, formerly PGS). PGT-A is much more common than PGT-M, why the following text mainly refers to PGT-A. 

 

who is a candidate for PGT-A?

  • Women over 38 years
  • Prior early miscarriage
  • Prior embryo transfers with unexplained implantation failure
  • Extremely low sperm count of the male partner
  • Determination not to transfer embryos with wrong number of chromosomes

how does pgT-A work?

  • No immediate embryo transfer
  • Biopsy and cryopreservation of suitable embryos on day 5 or 6
  • Four weeks later, the first embryo with normal chromosomes can be transferred
  • Success rate approx. 60% independently from age (but only 60% of those aged 41-42 have an embryo transfer at all)

additional cost

  • depends on the number of embryos tested
  • basic price 3600 CHF
  • the additional cost is only charged if there are suitable blastocysts for testing on day 5 or 6
 

 

In 2015 and 2016, the Swiss voted by a very clear margin of 62% to 38% twice in favour of a liberalisation of reproductive medicine, allowing embryo freezing and embryo testing. The whole reproductive medicine community of Switzerland is happy about the public confidence. Having passed through a very comprehensive cantonal approval procedure, we are happy and proud to offer this technology to our patients from early 2018 on.

 

The human chromosomes

Men and women possess 46 chromosomes each. A woman (left) has two X chromosomes, a man (right) one X and one Y.

 

Even in young couples, the majority of naturally conceived embryos has an abnormal chromosome count, mostly because the female egg, which should give one copy of each chromosome to the embryo, gives two (leading to a trisomy) or zero (leading to a monosomy) instead. This phenomenon is called new mutation, more specifically non-disjunction and increases exponentially with the age of the woman; it represents the biological background for the steep decrease in fertility and increase in miscarriages in women over the age of 35 years.

 

In the well-known centre in Valencia (Spain), the proportion of abnormal embryos in function of female age was examined:

The proportion of abnormal embryos, which is 51.8% in the age group below 35 years, increases continuously to literally 77.9% at 41-42 years. One needs to consider that only day 5 embryos (blastocysts) were examined; when testing embryos on day 3 like in previous years, even 90% would have been abnormal at 42 years of age. This underscores that waiting until day 5 alone eliminates many embryos with unsuitable genetic code, avoiding futile embryo transfers.

Next, the Spanish investigators examined the effects of transferring only genetically normal embryos. The effects are impressive (see graph above): even women over 40 can have pregnancy rates around 60% (as opposed to only 20% without PGT-A) and hardly suffer miscarriages. Obviously, the prerequisite is to have a suitable embryo at all:

The high pregnancy rate of 60% in women aged 41-42 obviously comes at a price: only 59.6 percent could have an embryo transfer, while the other 40% - having spent more than 10'000 CHF - just received the sad news that no single suitable embryo had developped. PGT-A is merely a selection tool, which provides the couples an «open visor» and sometimes brutally honest information about the quality of their embryos. However, I am impressed time and again how Swiss couples rather assume the additional cost than having transferred embryos without the ghost of a chance.

 

The «de-selection» of genetically abnormal embryos induced political and ethical opposition. Is it correct that PGS enables us to cold-heartedly eliminate embryos which could have lived? To find the answer, we need to look at another graph.

 

distribution of chromosomal errors among the 24 chromosomes

In a study from New York, 1069 embryos with numerical maldistribution of chromosomes were examined.

 

Only 4% had trisomy 21, the remai­ning 96% suffered from another of the 46 possible maldistri­butions (click on image to show the original data).

 

Only trisomy 21 can produce living children (with different levels of handicap and malformations). All other 96% embryos were unfit for life in the first place. They would have produced a failed IVF cycle or, worse, a miscarriage which is painful both psychologically and physically, and makes the couple lose even more precious time.

 

details of the procedure

 

Image on the right: laser-assisted embryo biopsy (so-called troph­ecto­derm biopsy). The biologist removes 5 to 10 (from a total of 300) cells of the blasto­cyst, targeting the part which is going to be the baby's placenta. The proba­bility that the embryo will survive the biopsy and the subsequent freezing as well as thawing surpasses 90%.

 

After biopsy, the minute piece of tissue will be expertly tubed and sent by courier to the specialised genetic laboratory of the leading Igenomix company in Spain or Italy. The results will be available in approx. ten days.

 

 

SUMMARY

  • Pre-implantation genetic testing with aneuploidy screening (PGT-A) is a promising and contemporary tool which is now also legal in Switzerland. It serves IVF couples in difficult situations and/or those whose time is melting away. Probably the strongest motivator will be past miscarriages.

  • Not all IVF couples will resort to PGT-A, given the effort, complexity and additional cost, only those with a clear medical indication.

  • Over 95% of abnormal embryos on PGT-A are completely unfit for implantation or would have produced painful miscarriages, increasing time to achieve a pregnancy and extra economic cost.

  • PGT-A improves the efficiency of difficult treatments and prevents miscarriages. In older women with little time, it can make the difference between having a child or remaining childless.

 

The societal controversy on pre-implantation vs. prenatal testing for trisomy 21 will be dealt with on a separate page. As a principle, no woman should ever be forced to undergo a «trial pregnancy», i.e. being denied PGS and have to do prenatal testing at eleven weeks of pregnancy, with the possibility of consecutive termination of pregnancy.

Drucken/Print

 

Präimplantationsdiagnostik: endlich auch in der Schweiz

Dieser Artikel kann als PDF-Flyer (2 MB) heruntergeladen werden.

 

Das Erbgut von Embryonen kann heute vor der Einpflanzung untersucht werden. Die geschieht in der Regel am Tag 5 oder 6, und die gewonnenen Zellen werden im hochspezialisierten Labor genetisch untersucht. Handelt es sich um Paare mit vorbestehender Erbkrankheit wie z.B. der cystischen Fibrose, so bezeichnet man die Methode als PID (Präimplantationsdiagnostik) bzw. PGD (preimplantation genetic diagnosis); handelt es sich hingegen um ein Testen aller Embryonen auf Neumutationen wie Trisomien oder Monosomien, so sprechen wir von PGS (preimplantation genetic screening, Aneuploidie-Screening). PGS kommt sehr viel häufiger zur Anwendung als PGD, darum bezieht sich der folgende Text schwergewichtig auf PGS. 

 

Für wen eignet sich PGS?

  • Frauen über 38 Jahre
  • Zustand nach Fehlgeburten
  • Zustand nach mehreren Embryotransfers ohne Einnistung
  • Extrem schlechte Samenwerte des männlichen Partners
  • Wille, keine Embryonen mit falscher Chromosomenzahl einzusetzen

WIE läuft PGS ab?

  • Kein sofortiger Embryotransfer
  • Am Tag 5 oder 6 werden gut entwickelte Embryonen biopsiert und tiefgekühlt
  • 4 Wochen später kann der erste Embryo mit unauffälligem Erbgut eingesetzt werden
  • Erfolgschance ca. 60% unabh. von Alter, aber nur 60% der 41-42jährigen haben überhaupt einen Embryotransfer

Zusatzkosten

  • abhängig von der Anzahl untersuchter Embryonen
  • Basispreis 3600 CHF
  • Zusatzkosten entstehen nur, wenn sich am Tag 5 bzw. 6 zur Biopsie geeignete Blastocysten gebildet haben
 

 

2015 und 2016 stimmte das Schweizer Volk mit grosser Mehrheit von je 62% einer Liberalisierung der Fortpflanzungsmedizin zu. Neben der Möglichkeit, Embryonen tiefzukühlen, stellt die Präimplantationsdiagnostik den zweiten grossen Fortschritt dar. Nach einem sehr aufwändigen kantonalen Bewilligungsverfahren sind wir froh und stolz, die hier geschilderte Technik seit Anfang 2018 auch den von uns betreuten Paaren anbieten zu können.

 

normales erbgut des menschen

Frauen und Männer haben je 46 Chromosomen. Eine Frau (links) besitzt zwei X-Chromosomen, ein Mann (rechts) ein X und ein Y.

 

Bereits in jungen Jahren weicht die Mehrzahl der natürlich entstandenen Embryonen von der normalen Chromosomenzahl ab, meistens weil die weibliche Eizelle dem Embryo statt eine Kopie eines Chromosoms deren zwei (führt zu einer Trisomie) oder gar keine (führt zu einer Monosomie) mitgibt. Diese Fehlverteilungen werden als Neumutation, bzw. präziser non-disjunction bezeichnet; die so entstandenen Embryonen mit zahlenmässiger Fehlverteilung sind aneuploid. Ihre Häufigkeit steigt mit zunehmendem Alter der Frau exponentiell an; dies ist die biologische Grundlage der steil abnehmenden Fruchtbarkeit wie auch der zunehmenden Häufigkeit von Fehlgeburten jenseits von 35 Jahren.

 

Das bekannte Zentrum in Valencia (Spanien) hat den Zusammenhang zwischen Alter der Frau und Anteil abweichender Embryonen untersucht:

Der Anteil abweichender Embryonen steigt stetig von 51.8% in der Altersgruppe unter 35 Jahren auf sage und schreibe 77.9% mit 41-42 Jahren an. Dabei ist zu berücksichtigen, dass man ausschliesslich Tag 5-Embryonen (Blastocysten) untersucht hat; hätte man die Embryonen, wie früher, am Tag 3 untersucht, so wären bei 42jährigen Frauen ganze 90% abweichend gewesen. Dies zeigt, dass bereits das Zuwarten bis zum fünften Tag zahlreiche Embryonen mit abweichendem Erbgut eliminiert und somit sinnlose Embryotransfers verhindert.


Als nächstes untersuchten die spanischen Forscher, wie es sich auswirkt, wenn ausschliesslich genetisch unauffällige Embryonen eingepflanzt werden (oben). Die Auswirkungen sind eindrücklich: auch über 40jährige können zu über 60% schwanger werden (statt zu 20% ohne PGS) und haben deutlich weniger Fehlgeburten. Voraussetzung ist natürlich, dass dem Paar solche Embryonen überhaupt zur Verfügung stehen:

Natürlich kommt die 60prozentige Schwangerschaftsrate der 41-42jährigen zu einem Preis: nur 59.6% Prozent von ihnen kamen in den Genuss eines Embryotransfers, und die übrigen 40% erhielten - nachdem sie über 10'000 Franken aufgewendet hatten - die Mitteilung, dass sich kein einziger geeigneter Embryo gebildet hatte. PGS ist nur ein Selektionsinstrument, welches den betroffenen Paaren mit «offenem Visier» und teils schonungslos vor Augen führt, wie es um ihre Embryonen steht. Ich bin immer wieder beeindruckt, dass Schweizer Paare lieber die Zusatzkosten in Kauf nehmen, als dass sie chancenlose Embryonen einsetzen lassen würden.

 

Das «Aussortieren» genetisch abweichender Embryonen stiess auf politischen und ethischen Widerspruch. Stimmt der Vorwurf, dass mit PGS kaltherzig Embryonen abgewählt werden, die lebensfähig gewesen wären? Dafür müssen wir eine weitere Grafik betrachten.

 

Verteilung von chromo­somen­fehlern auf die 24 chromosomen

In einer Studie aus New York wurden 1069 abweichende Embryonen untersucht.

 

Nur 4% hatten eine Trisomie 21, die übrigen 96% wiesen eine andere der 46 möglichen Fehlverteilungen auf (Klick auf Bild zeigt Originaldaten).

 

Nur die Trisomie 21 (Down-Syndrom) führt zu lebensfähigen Kindern, allerdings mit unterschiedlich ausgeprägten Fehlbildungen bzw. Behinderungen. Die übrigen 96% der untersuchten Embryonen waren somit gar nicht lebensfähig. Sie hätten zu einem Misserfolg der Behandlung oder, schlimmer, zu einer psychisch wie physisch schmerzhaften Fehlgeburt mit weiterem Verlust wertvoller Zeit geführt.

 

Technischer Ablauf

 

Bild rechts: Embryo-Biopsie (sogenannte Trophectoderm-Biopsie) mit Laser. Dabei werden 5 bis 10 (von total 300) Zellen der Blasto­cyste entfernt, und zwar von jenem Teil, der zukünftig die Placenta bilden wird. Die Wahr­schein­lichkeit, dass der Embryo die Biopsie, das anschliessende Einfrieren und spätere Auftauen überlebt, beträgt über 90%.

 

Anschliessend wird das winzige Gewebestück­chen fachgerecht ins beschriftete Röhrchen transferiert und per Kurier ins genetische Spezial­labor der Firma Igenomix in Spanien bzw. Italien transportiert. Die Ergebnisse liegen in etwa zehn Tagen vor.

 

 

ZUSAMMENFASSUNG

  • Präimplantationsdiagnostik mit Aneuploidie-Screening (PGS) ist ein vielversprechendes, zeitgemässes, nun auch in der Schweiz erlaubtes Hilfsmittel für IVF-Paare in schwierigen Situationen und/oder mit zerrinnender Zeit. Der wichtigste Motivator werden wohl erlittene Fehlgeburten sein.

  • Nicht alle IVF-Paare werden die PGS durchführen, nur schon aus Aufwand- und Kostengründen, aber für die oben genannten Patientengruppen stellt sie einen grossen Fortschritt dar.

  • PGS erkennt in 96% der Fälle Embryonen, die ohnehin völlig chancenlos wären und zu Fehlversuchen bzw. Fehlgeburten geführt hätten.

  • PGS verbessert die Effizienz schwieriger Behandlungen, verhindert schmerzhafte Fehlgeburten und kann bei älteren Frauen den Unterschied zwischen Kind und Kinderlosigkeit ausmachen.

 

Die gesellschaftliche Kontroverse über die vorgeburtliche Erkennung von Trisomie 21 kommentiere ich auf einer eigenen Seite; grundsätzlich darf man keine Frau zwingen, eine «Schwangerschaft auf Probe» einzugehen und dann - völlig legal - die Diagnose der Trisomie 21 erst mit 11-12 Schwangerschaftswochen zu erfahren, nur um dann über Abtreibung nachdenken zu müssen.